It’s finally here! Vacation.

Thanks to all those who gave advice on visiting San Francisco – I leave tomorrow!  I’ve taken notes, and I’m raring to go, especially considering D.C.’s current unbearable heat and humidity. I’m meeting my two friends at the hotel, as we’re all flying out a different times and from different airports.  Basic vacation plans involve exploring the neighborhoods, going to Alcatraz & Angel Island, biking across the Golden Gate Bridge, and visiting various museums.  This will be followed by two days in wine country, and then an overnight flight back home.

I do not think I’ll be reading a lot while I’m in San Francisco, but certainly I’ll be reading in the airports.  Of course I have a few requisite guide books (Lonely Planet’s guide to San Francisco, Insiders’ Guide to California Wine Country, and Adah Bakalinsky’s Stairway Walks in San Francisco.)  But I also will be bringing the following:

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons – always good to tuck in a classic, a humorous classic too.

The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance: A Memoir by Elna Baker – great title, isn’t it?  I had forgotten that I’d requested it via interlibrary loan a while ago and it just came in yesterday.

Evolving in Monkey Town: How a Girl Who Knew All the Answers Learned to Ask the Questions by Rachel Held Evans – Evans’ post “How Not to Win the Best Christian Attitude” got me started on reading her blog, but I knew I really wanted to get around to reading her book, so here’s my chance. The title refers to Evans’ hometown of Dayton, Tennessee, which is where the Scopes Monkey Trial was held.

So au revoir for now!  (And expect photos to be posted on my return!)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s finally here! Vacation.

  1. Cori

    Have a great time! The weather has been lovely out here in Sacramento, so I think the Bay Area should be just perfect as well. 🙂

  2. I’m excited to hear your thoughts on the Scopes town girl’s book! I was mildly obsessed with the Scopes trial when I was in high school, and I am only sort of not-obsessed with it now. It was just so interesting! :p

  3. I hope you’re having a great vacation still, or had a good one if you’re back already. I’ll second Jenny’s note about Evolving in Monkey Town — I’m curious about that one!

Join the Discussion!

