Istanbul / Jordan Trip Day 9: Petra

Picking up from where I left off in my last post, our travels brought us to Jordan’s perhaps most famous historical site: Petra. Jen, my sister and I walked from the Siq to the Monastery, with Jen taking a donkey part of the way. Thankfully, despite the previous day’s bout with sickness, we all were able to enjoy our experience of Petra and its many astounding facades, tombs and edifices. This will be primarily a post of photos.

Walking through the Siq.

Walking through the Siq.

The Treasury (which, contrary to its name, was actually a tomb - obviously for someone very important.)

The Treasury (which, contrary to its name, was actually a tomb – obviously for someone very important.)

 

The ubiquitous donkeys.

The ubiquitous donkeys.

IMG_9511

The "Palace" Tomb.

The “Palace” Tomb.

 

Silk Tomb

Silk Tomb

This puppy was desperate for some shade. Jen carried him around until we found a bush where we could put him.

This puppy was desperate for some shade. Jen carried him around until we found a bush where we could put him.

 

The Monastery. And if you look very closely at the top . . .

The Monastery. And if you look very closely at the top . . .

 . . . you can see my sister and Jen!

. . . you can see my sister and Jen!

It was definitely a full day at Petra, but well spent.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Istanbul / Jordan Trip Day 9: Petra

  1. Oh the Rose City! My mother told me about Petra when I was quite small, and I’ve always always wanted to go there. Your pictures are gorgeous, I am massively envious.

Join the Discussion!

